Stay updated on Covid-19 in Southeast Asia. For more information, click here.

The 2nd ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Awards Launched

Published on April 11, 2019

The theme of the second ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Awards is culture & heritage tourism. 

Sustainable tourism operators in Southeast Asia can now enter the 2nd ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Awards (ASTA), which have been launched as part of ASEAN’s Tourism Strategic Plan 2016-2025.

Twenty sustainable tourism winners – two from each ASEAN member state – will receive a package of benefits that will raise their business profile substantially. Winners will be highlighted on their NTO’s website and will receive exposure as a national best practice operator during press conferences and trade shows such as ATF, TRAVEX, ITB and WTM.
In addition, winners will be highlighted on ASEAN’s website They will be invited on stage to receive a trophy and recognition during the ASEAN sustainable tourism awards event, which will be part of the ASEAN Tourism Forum in Brunei Darussalam, January 2020.

Mr Sounh Manivong
Mr. Sounh Manivong, Director General of Tourism Marketing Department, Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism said some of the key objectives of the awards were to boost the profile and importance of sustainable tourism businesses in Southeast Asia, promote responsible tourism in all ASEAN countries, combat seasonality, and rebalance tourist flows towards best practice tourism experiences.

“The diversity and quality of ASEAN’s sustainable tourism options are amazing,” said Mr. Sounh “The aim of the awards is to prove it and empower green tourism practitioners.”

Of the two winners in each country, one will be “rural”, one will be “urban” to reaffirm that city operators can be sustainable as much as rural ones.

The awards will take place every two years and will be themed. The inaugural awards 2020-2021, which are now open for the 2nd awarding, the theme of ASTA for 2020 is “Culture and Heritage Tourism.”

Applications will be assessed by ASTA’s Master Assessors in the applicant’s country.

The deadline for submissions is 30th October 2019. Results will be announced in early December and the awarding ceremony will be take place on January 2020 during ASEAN Tourism Forum.

Applicants can read the full rules and regulations and download the entry form here. Alternatively email

Further information

ASEAN Tourism Competitiveness Committee: