Stay updated on Covid-19 in Southeast Asia. For more information, click here.

Published on May 20, 2014

Angkasa Pura II, Operators of airports in the western part of Indonesia, has announced that Passenger Service Cost or Airport Tax at three of its major airports will be increased starting Monday 19 May 2014.

The three airports are the brand new Kualanamu International Airport of Medan, capital of North Sumatra, the Raja Haji Fisabilillah International Airport of Tanjung Pinang, capital of the province of the Riau Islands on the island of Bintan, and the Sultan Syarif Kasim II International Airport at Pekanbaru, capital of the Riau Province.

The raise is justified said Angkasa Pura II Corporate Secretary, Daryanto, in view of the fact that Kualanamu is a completely brand new airport, while major expansions have been done on passenger terminals at Tanjung Pinang and Pekanbaru.

To ease the burden on domestic passengers, Domestic airport tax will be raised in two stages, the first stage to start on Monday, 19 May 2014, and the following stage on 1 January 2015. This will take affect at the airports of Medan and Tanjung Pinang only.

Starting 19 May 2014, airport tax for the following airports are, therefore, as follows:

Kuala Namu International Airport in Medan : Domestic airport tax will be Rp. 60,000 (to increase to Rp. 75,000 starting 1 January 2015) . While International Airport Tax is now : Rp. 200,000.

For the Raja Haji Fasibilillah International Airport at Tanjung Pinang : Domestic airport tax will be Rp. 30,000, to increase to Rp. 40,000 starting 1 January 2015. While, International airport tax is Rp. 100,000.

At Pekanbaru’s Sultan Syarif Kasim II International Airport, the airport tax on Domestic flights is Rp. 45,000 while on International Flights is Rp. 100,000

Photo Courtesy Calvin Wisanto